Lessons Learned

So, it’s the end of 2011. In a year from now we’ll all be dead! Still… I wouldn’t panic about it; I’ve survived the end of the world quite a few times now. It seems likely that this is just another one of those Armageddons, dreamed up by Hawaiian Tropic, to sell factor 2,000,000 sunscreen.

For Sleepless Knight, 2011 has been a very busy year indeed…

I have made many new friends, and I have lost a few old ones. I began the year by promising that I would not move house again, and ended up doing so… TWICE! There have been moments of sadness that have moved me to tears, and moments of joy beyond anything I had ever hoped to feel again. I have had weird weeks aplenty and times when I was allowed the briefest glimpse of success. There was a moment when I considered writing this blog off as one of the worst ideas I ever had, but perseverance and optimism won out, and it may well turn out to be one of the best decisions I’ve made in 37 years.

As the year draws to a close, Sleepless Knight has already had to say goodbye to people I knew far too briefly, but all is not doom & gloom… not by a very long way. So I thought would share with you one or two things I have learned (or at least re-learned) in 2011. And, since this is a movie-lover’s blog, we’re gonna do it in movie style:

  1. “Life is beautiful!”

This is something I’ve always known. It’s one of the things that make me who I am, that I can hardly get through a day without seeing something about the world around me that makes me smile. But it’s something that can be knocked out of you if you don’t keep your head. Sometimes, you need something to elbow you back onto the tracks and remind you that every single day you breathe successfully from dawn to dusk, is one to be grateful for.

  1. “…it’s never too late to get it back!”

This sort of follows on from the one above, but, if we live long enough, we will all come to a point where we lose something of who we were, and it’s very easy to write it off to the cynicism of aging, but if you miss that daydreamer who wanted to see what was over the next hill, or around the next corner, or just to jump because… what’s the worst that can happen? Remember what Lester Burnham said, because I promise you it’s true.

  1. “Don’t underestimate…”

This goes for yourself, as well as other people. Many people have underestimated me, and continue to do so, but not nearly as often as I have underestimated myself. Just try not to do it. It’s a bad habit. You should be especially wary of underestimating those around you. You never know when they’ll surprise you… either by doing something really nice and unexpected, or simply by being more understanding then you thought they might be.

  1. “Nobody’s perfect!”

At first glance this may appear to contradict the one above, but it really doesn’t. Although, once again, this does apply to yourself as well as to those you love. Everyone makes mistakes! This does not make you, or those around you, any more monstrous or inhuman. It is particularly relevant if you love someone dearly, that you expect them to be less than perfect, because if you do not… you are very likely to be disappointed.

  1. “If you build it, they will come!”

I must confess I’ve had my doubts about this one several times this year. It often seems as though you’re wasting your time; that no-one is really interested in what you’re doing; that they will refuse to help, or pay any attention to your efforts, simply because what you are trying to do seems so completely far-fetched and ridiculous, that you will never make it work in a hundred lifetimes. My advice is: Build the damn thing anyway! If you fail, people may say “I told you so”, but so the hell what? Is that really so terrible. Quite often you’ll be pleasantly surprised. I have lost hope for the channel/blog/novel… on many occasions, but every so often someone will come along and say “That’s really good” or “Can I help?” Be patient.

  1. “Hope is a good thing… maybe the best of things.”

As wonderful as Morgan Freeman is, hope is NEVER, EVER a dangerous thing! I would have given up on some truly wonderful things in my life without hope. Someone even wrote a song for me earlier this year with that very title: “Hope”. And, if you’re a fan of irony, I had always hoped that someone would do that for me one day. Now surely I need say nothing more about hope than that? But, if you need more reasons why hope is a good thing…

  1. “Because you never know what the tide will bring.”

Happiness, love, success… these are all things that can come out of nowhere and knock you over like a train. However – and this is particularly relevant to the first one and the last – if you go through life expecting them not to… you are unlikely to find otherwise.

  1. “Soylent Green is people!”

This one is simply there because I was getting a little too serious, and I thought we needed to lighten the mood. It is of course, complete and utter nonsense! We all know that Soylent Green is made from orphaned puppies and pureed Unicorn.

2011 has been a year I am very unlikely ever to forget, and I am looking forward to the new year with a childish anticipation I can never remember having felt before. The beginning of 2012 holds some very happy possibilities for the channel, and for myself, and there should be a Sleepless wedding (Richard’s) by the end of the year. What will happen between those two, only time will tell. Whatever it is, I hope you will stay with me and keep watching, and reading.

What does your 2012 have in store (apart from fiery doom, of course) for you, and what were your most treasured memories from 2011?

P.S.

In other news…. There is other NEWS!!!!

Instead of your usual picture, I will be posting our latest video. That’s right… I said VIDEO!! I changed my plans to make sure that the three videos coming up early in the new year, will be spectacularrrr… so this one is just a farewell to 2011.

5 comments on “Lessons Learned

  1. Can’t believe I’ve never read your blog before. You can be sure I will be coming back, you hit salient points no one should forget but everyone does from time to time. Be assured you’ve got yourself another reader

    Like

    • Thanks for that, Ben-Jammin! Nice to have a new reader. I’m pleased to hear you’ll be returning to the team in the future. Didn’t like to lose you. Now… If you can manage to persuade Kitty to stick around as well, I will ensure that you are properly rewarded in the afterlife.

      Like

  2. I know there isn’t a “strange word of the week” in this post, but if there had been I would have guessed for puréed. Just saying.

    There are some good thoughts in here. I’ve recently been thinking a lot about what I’ve learnt in 2011, but I’ll save that for a proper blog-post, instead of hogging all your commenting-space!

    Really looking forward to watching the video, it’s be a long time coming! 😀

    Like

    • It has indeed been a long time coming. Far too long!

      I didn’t put a word of the week in for the last two weeks, simply because they’ve been written in such a hurry. But it’s still your turn to give me a word next time, since… surprisingly, no-one guessed “bestiality”.
      Why it should continue to surprise me that no-one reads this blog but you, I really don’t know.

      Like the new Gravatar pic by the way. Surprising what you can do with a camera, isn’t it?

      Like

  3. Pingback: A word of caution. « Only Human

Leave a Reply

