Don’t Panic

I have often said (and will probably continue to say, until you all get together and draw straws, to decide who gets to drive an ice-cream van into my face) that Douglas Adams was the greatest man I never met. So it seems fitting to pay tribute to him here, since my own novel (and, by extension, this blog) would probably never have existed without him.

Although my novel was recently rejected by Ed Victor – Douglas’s own literary agent – I cannot bring myself to feel bitterness towards him, or his agency. Firstly, because Ed Victor Ltd. are not alone in their opinion, that my novel represents the world’s strongest argument against teaching children to hold a pen. But, more importantly, because without Ed Victor we might never have known that a towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have. Or that a HARBOTTLE is a particular kind of fly which lives inside double glazing.

Douglas Adams gave us so many wonderful new words and ideas – as well as explaining some old ones in a way that made more sense to us – it would be impossible to pick even a handful of them, as my favourites. His love of words, comedy, science, animals and the Universe in general, was an inspiration to me and many others throughout the world.

It is 10 years to the day since Douglas died. That he left us at just 49 years old is perhaps the hardest thing to come to terms with. I’m sure he had so very much more to say, and I for one miss him terribly.

Douglas Noel Adams (11th March 1952 – 11th May 2001)

Forgive the hastily improvised tribute. I'm pretty sure I'd get in trouble for posting a copyrighted photo of the man himself.

Leave a Reply

